Setting up a Subversion repository on a 1and1 server

This is a short note on setting up a Subversion (or SVN) repository on a 1and1 (or 1&1) server. At least, this is what worked for me.

1&1 offers and mentions Git as a control version system. But in my case, I was more used to using Subversion, and I like TortoiseSVN. Of course I should start using Git as soon as possible, but… anyway.

First, I tested whether 1&1 offers svn at all. So I opened a shell session on the server and tried:

svn –version

[Beware: there are actually two dashes before “version”, but for some reason, WordPress might show only one.]

And it answered:

svn, version 1.6.12 (r955767)

and a lot of other things. So (at least in my case, and at this point in time) we do have Subversion installed. Forget all the pages out there telling you how to download svn sources, unzip, compile, launch svn daemon and all that stuff. You don’t need anything of that if you’re in a situation like mine.

Next, I created (and this is only a matter of personal taste) a directory, svn, on my personal htdocs  directory, which is something like /kunden/homepages/x/dxxxxxxxxx/htdocs/. So:

mkdir svn

Inside svn, I would create the svn repository (or repositories). I insist; this directory structure is up to you.

So, to create the repository (which I would call repos, and that again is up to you), I typed:

cd svn

svnadmin create repos

We have a repository now. So far for the server. Now, we need to upload some project from the client. In my case, the client is Windows XP, with a TortoiseSVN 1.6.1o installed (Subversion 1.6.12). I use it from the Windows shell, with the neat context menus TortoiseSVN installs.

So, let’s say I have a project like c:\projects\MyConversor. I open c:\projects folder, and I right-click MyConversor folder. In the Tortoise menu, I choose Import… and here comes the tricky part: the connection string. That, in my case, is something like (put this all in one single line):

svn+ssh://uYYYYYYYY@myserver.com/kunden/homepages/

x/dxxxxxxxx/htdocs/svn/repos/MyConversor

uYYYYYYYY is your username for the 1and1 account, the same one you use for Telnet/SSH sessions. Don’t lose your time messing around with Subversion users, authz, passwd or svnserve.conf  like I did. Of course, x/dxxxxxxxx depends on your particular account (you can see this path by typing pwd in the shell). Be aware that TortoiseSVN will be asking  for your 1and1 password (the one for user uYYYYYYYY) once and again (and if the Tortoise user interface seems to be frozen, chances are there is a dialog somewhere asking you the password and you haven’t seen it).

I think that’s all. I thought I would need to set permissions on the server repository directories, but that was not the case, and the default 755 will do. As for security/access issues, I have no special concerns in this case, so you’ll have to dive deeper if you need to tweak that a little.

The rest is working with Subversion commands, but the purpose of this post is just to record how to get connected. Once you’re connected… just RTFM.

[EDIT: As of June 2013, the guys at Fenometech offered very useful information that complete this post for the client side. Don’t miss it.]

5 comentarios to “Setting up a Subversion repository on a 1and1 server”

  1. Version Control of Eagle Files with Subversion Server on Shared Hosting Service | Fenometech Inc. Says:

    […] use a lot, and my hosting service 1&1 actually has subversion server installed as found out by Diariu de Guti. 1&1 actually officially supports Git, but due to the lack of good shell extension like […]

  2. Jerome Li Says:

    Hi, Guti,

    This Jerome from Fenometech. Thanks for your kind comment on my blog.

    Your post did help me a lot. Particularly the URL part, I started with git, as you may know, accessing git repo is really easy. But the url for svn was not. So thanks again for figuring that out.

    As to the dashes, the same thing happened to me. When I looked my post later one, somehow wordpress omit one of mine too. It seems we are not alone. A little google search directed me to the following:

    http://wordpress.org/support/topic/issue-with-double-dash

    It’s fixable. But since this really not a big deal to me. So I will live with it.

    Regards,
    JL

  3. Jorge Says:

    Acabo de descubrir el Blog, saludos desde Xixón… interesante artículo! Voy cacharrear un poco a ver si lo echo a andar, que tener un repo en la misma máquina que usas pa desarrollar no ye ni coherente ni seguro…

    En cuanto lo tenga seguiré por aquí rabilando a ver qué se cuece en este blog

  4. Anónimo Says:

    Hola, Jorge. Encantáu de que te pueda dar alguna idea. Y si algo se tuerce y lo que escribí ya nun val, no dudes en decilo, que lo actualizo. Un saludo.

  5. guticr Says:

    El anónimu anterior soy yo, Guti 🙂

Responder

